Mind power

Running is becoming, amongst other things, a daily reminder of my mind power! I’ve noticed that when I’m at minute 10-11, I feel real tired and start thinking of stopping… But then I choose to talk positively to myself and manage to quiet the voice that was saying “stop now, you can’t go any further, we’re tired”. I also think of all the daily hours I spend sitting or laying down, and realize that a 35 minute run is nothing compared to so many sedentary hours. I plan on running for 1 entire hour eventually, so right now, I’m increasing one minute each day until I reach that goal.

I seem to be able to use my mind in a positive way when it comes to exercise, but when it comes to food, it’s a different story. I think the stories that I tell myself, involve binging or eating when I get bored, sad, anxious, happy or angry. It’s like food has been the answer or the solution to all situations I’ve gone through. It is definitely a habit, but so was purging, and I haven’t done it since April the 2nd (yay me!). What I need to change now are the binges, the negative self-talk and the comparing myself to others.

I have a party tonight with one of my closest friends (who I went with to Overeaters Anonymous) and her model sister ( 5’9” blonde, skinny model). They are both hot and tall and flirtatious, so I have to work harder on my self talk tonight, because whatever I tell myself is what I’ll transmit. I must remember to be kind, loving and caring to myself at all times. And no, I’m no model and I don’t have the perfect body or physique, but I must acknowledge my numerous qualities and enjoy them.

I’m gonna go get a bath now because no amount of positive self talk will make me smell good when I haven’t showered haha.

“You are capable of more than you know. Choose a goal that feels right for you and strive to be the best, however hard the path. Aim high. Behave honorably. Prepare to be alone at times, and to endure failure. Persist! The world needs all you can give.”- E.O. Wilson

Kisses!

E

Leave a Reply

