The thin line between indulging and binging

I haven’t binged in A WHOLE WEEK!!! I’m so happy and proud of myself! I was actually waiting for it to be a whole binge-free week to write about it 🙂 .

I certainly haven’t binged but, I keep flirting with the line that divides a binge from a little indulging. Like, right now, I just came back from the kitchen, I meant to prepare some green tea but was also craving something sweet (I always do in the afternoons). I don’t use the microwave to heat anything up since my mom told me that by doing so, all of the food’s nutrients and vitamins disappear. That is why I heat my tea water up in a pot and naturally it takes longer to boil. While I was waiting for the water to be ready, I saw an apple and decided to eat it with a peanut butter spoon… I didn’t find one so I spread it with a knife to my apple bite by bite and obviously ended up eating more than ONE table spoon of pb. Usually this would have lead to grabbing the jar of nutela, some strawberries, popcorn, cookies, etc. but not today, not anymore.

What has been helping me stop the binges and changing my bad habits lately is an exercise Cyn recommended: she told me to imagine myself 5, 10, 15 and 20 years from now with the same habits that have been reigning in my life so far. How does my life look like?, Am I happy or sad? Do I have all the things I want? Do I have a boyfriend, a husband, kids? How’s my career doing? My look into the future with the way I’ve been behaving isn’t a very bright one, so every time I’m about to do something that sabotages me, does me no good or keeps me away from my goals, I instantly think of what impact that activity is going to have in my future; is it going to benefit or damage me?

I have been doing this exercise for a week and I gotta tell you my energy has changed drastically! Whenever I feel like not waking up in the morning, postponing a workout, eating the whole pack of cookies, not doing my bed in the morning, comparing myself to others, feeling inferior, etc, I think of that awful image I saw in the mirror 20 years from today and immediately decide to act the other way around to really work on breeding new habits that will change that picture into an inspiring and happy one.

So, I invite you to do the same exercise whenever you feel stuck, fearful, inferior, unhappy, lazy, insecure, sad, etc. Is that how you want your life to be 20 years from now?…… I didn’t think so.

“The way you think, the way you behave, and the way you eat, can influence your life by 30 to 50 years.”- Deepak Chopra

Love, Erika.

10 thoughts on “The thin line between indulging and binging

    • Definitely try it, Cassy! It works like a charm 😉 .
      Peanut buttered apple is my favorite snack, you’ll love it! I recommend you serve a tablespoon and close the jar cause it gets dangerous to eat directly from it haha.

    • Aww, thanks! I think I deserve to be happy, too 🙂
      OMG, I read that entry in your blog but wasn’t sure if I was ready but now that you asked, I’ll do it! Where and when should I write it?
      Lots of love, Héléne!

  1. That’s a really great thought-stopping technique! It’s so easy to lose track of our goals for the future sometimes unless we are super-conscious of it. It’s also fun to day dream about what great things lie ahead because of even a little good decision!

    • IT IS AN AWESOME THOUGHT-STOPPING TECHNIQUE! The blogger i mention in the post recommended it to me and it’s genius!!
      Tell me about daydreaming! I love to do it so much, I don’t find enough time during the day for it haha. Thanks for reading!

  2. “The way you think, the way you behave, and the way you eat, can influence your life by 30 to 50 years.”- Deepak Chopra….Love this quote and it is very true. Your new approach is spot on! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

