Self image at the gym

I have to struggle, every time I go to the gym, with my self- appreciation.

I am not the most comfortable in the room, I feel overweight and I am constantly reminded of that fact by only looking at my reflection in the mirror. I talk myself into going, into not quitting, into not caring what others may or may not think but it’s hard!

Maybe nobody even cares as much as I do, maybe they don’t even realise I’m there.

This self-love thing is hard, especially today.

I’ll go to the gym nonetheless but today it is hard.

15 thoughts on “Self image at the gym

  1. No one said the journey is always an easy one, Erika πŸ™‚

    We have these days – of doubt, of being down, of not feeling great about ourselves. And it’s sometimes all about plodding and trudging through the muck to get through to the other side. It’s not going to be a self-love fest every day, but man are we much further and better on than we used to be, eh? Doing the actions like you are doing – continuing to go to the gym even when you don’t want to – says a lot about how you feel about yourself. So take a look at the inside, rather than the outside today. And maybe every day. You’re a beautiful person who just has rough days. Like the rest of us. And you’re aware of it, and you reach out (like here) and you’re still taking care of yourself.

    Bravo, my friend πŸ™‚

    Paul

    • Paul, I feel the love in every word you write. You are carrying one hell of a wonderful message. Thanks for spreading it and for leaving such a valuable penny πŸ˜‰

  2. I think you’re quite right. “Maybe nobody even cares” how you look. And if they do then screw them!

    Perhaps going to the gym to feel good on-the-inside would be a better motivation than going so that you may, or may not, look better sometime in the future.

    Just a thought. But you already know that I think you’re beautiful inside and out anyway πŸ˜‰

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

  3. Praying for you lovely Erika – remember that you’re so, so worth it. You’re beyond beautiful in God’s eyes. I know how hard it is to truly know and understand that though – I’m still trying to figure it out! But it’s true, nonetheless!
    Much love xo

    • Meel, sweet sweet Mel! I love this, and yes, I must acknowledge my beauty on the inside and out. I’m a work in progress and I love it.
      Thank you, dear!

  4. Pingback: Page not found | myrecoverydiary

  5. Erika, I think it is wonderful that you reflect on these feelings, and wise of you to share them with this supportive community. You’ll come to find that most of us (if not all) have these feelings of self-doubt and struggle with self-love and acceptance. I have a little quote above my desk that I want you think about at the gym in front of those mirrors, it says, “If you smile at the mirror it has no choice but to smile back at you.” πŸ™‚

    Just imagine if you could see yourself through someone else’s eyes. They would see a pretty girl, with a warm glow, smiling at herself because she is taking the time to treat her body right by exercising it.

    Also, don’t forget to dance. I read in one of your other posts that you love to dance. Dancing is a wonderful work out. Throw on some music and jam whenever you are home by yourself. I find it is my best workouts these days. I even made up a dance/yoga mesh that I call Yogarobics. I’m still working on a business plan for that one! lol

    • This community is the best that has happened to me!!! Comments such as this one uplift my spirit. I love, love, love the quote!
      And, about the dancing, I gotta tell you a little story: one night ago I asked the Universe for a sign concerning dancing, and in the morning, this comment showed up on my orange notifications in the blog !!!!! Talk about bliss and connection. So, thanks for this very accurate comment :). I love the Yogarobics mesh! You must come up with the plan cause it sounds real good!!!!!!
      Lots of love!!!!!!!!!

      • Alright! I’m so excited when I get to be a part of someone else’s synchronicity. I forget which post it was, but the way you wrote about dancing reminded me of how I feel when I do yoga. Something about being in the “zone” with your body, flowing fluidly like water, feeling the moment…it’s awesome! It’s the best way to keep a body/mind/spirit healthy!
        Something else I like to remember is that we are spiritual beings having a physical experience. The more we can do to elevate our physical bodies to the status of the spiritual (being IN the flow rather than pushing against it) the closer we are to our True nature ❀

        Finally, to send the love right back at you, I should tell you that I have been sort of low energy about my writing lately and was having a hard time getting back into my blog after a brief hiatus last week. Reading your blog got me re-energized somehow! So thanks and keep writing! ❀

        Cheers My Dear,

        Kaycie

    • And how often do you do yoga???? πŸ™‚
      Awww, wow! this comment keeps ME going! I’m glad my flawed and crazy writing inspired you to keep writing, that is why I LOVE this community. And, I absolutely and completely adore your writing!!!! Please do keep doing it, I really look forward to reading what you do!!!
      Lots of loveee, dear Kay πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

