The going to the beach post

I remember how I would fantasize about going on a trip to the beach with my younger cousins donning a bikini to show off my enviable physique. In my head I thought being fit and hot would make my cousins like and accept me. I would not picture anything else but them being amazed by my looks. Well, that trip just happened and even though I don’t look like I did on my mind, I do feel like it. You see, it was a wise person who told me that true self confidence starts from the inside out, not the other way around. And boy was she right.

I made smart, loving decisions on this trip. I decided not to let my insecurities keep me from enjoying myself. Yes, I have cellulite but that didn’t impede me from walking on the beach without a beach wrap. I chose to clumsily paddle-board instead of witnessing how others did it from afar. These decisions were so liberating for me, so groundbreaking! I remember going to the beach and hiding myself under the water, or not going in the water at all dreading the walk from the sand to where the sea covered my imperfect body. I embrace those imperfections now, I love them. How cool it would have been for me to realise this sooner! I would have not avoided trips and experiences like I did before recovery.

In this trip I realised how much more important it is to be a free, fun, loving person than having a “hot” body ever will be. I was visualizing the wrong picture before. I didn’t visualize the laughter, the talks, the fun games, the cool places, the dancing, the singing, the bonding, the L I V I N G.

I finally understand how much time is wasted focusing on stupid insecurities rather than on living in the moment.

Today I am grateful for recovery because I am getting to know and accept the real me and she is pretty damn awesome 😉

IMG_8351  IMG_8355 IMG_8356 IMG_8357 IMG_8362

4 thoughts on “The going to the beach post

  1. I am awakened when I read this post. I love everything about your journey. I am so excited to see you basking in the family, friends, fun, and love. I adore watching you LIVE your life—fully. How beautiful to choose to not remain on the sidelines.

    Keep being beautiful. You inspire me with your courage.

    Love to you this new year. Lisa

  2. This is so wonderful and inspiring! I love seeing you love your body! After all, it is the vehicle for your soul and it is important to this lifetime! You got me thinking about how I feel about my body right now. I had wanted to get really “fit” after the baby came, but I think for all the wrong reasons (pride and vanity for the most part). In this new year I hope to treat my body with love and respect and accept myself as I am. This doesn’t mean I won’t always strive to be the best version of myself.
    Thank you as always for this breth if fresh air! Happy new year beautiful!

Leave a Reply

