No one hits the bullseye with the first arrow

Yesterday I was (re)watching Downton Abbey and this quote (the title of this post) hit home with me. 

Yesterday I didn’t know today I would be rejected by the Public Education Secretary to go on a Scholarship to teach Spanish in France. But somehow the quote resonated with me, as a foreshadow of what I would find out today. It’s as if I knew, deep down that I wasn’t gonna get the scholarship. I don’t know how but my intuition has gotten better over the years. I am learning to listen and sometimes I don’t like what it has to say. 

I know not getting this scholarship  means I have bigger and better things ahead of me. 

I know my current job is not where I should be.

I know this first try is not a fall, but a stumble. 

And I am just certain that everything happens for a reason.

I won’t give up, I’ll just work harder because no one hits the bullseye with the first arrow.



3 thoughts on “No one hits the bullseye with the first arrow

  1. I have noticed a similar trend in myself lately. The stronger my intuition becomes, there are times I “don’t like” what it has to say, but I am learning to accept it with an open mind and open heart. I pulled an Oracle card this week that gave me the insight that sometimes rejection is Spirit’s way of protecting us or helping us avoid situations that truly are not for the highest good or a part of our life purpose. It would seem that your destiny does not include that scholarship, but just as you said, there is something better on it’s way!

Leave a Reply

